MRTF 2020

MRTF awards Poplar Bluff teachers $1,000 in grants
Posted on 09/15/2020
Mike Owen, Chris Wheat, and Anne and John Moyer.

The Missouri Retired Teachers Foundation recently financed two grants valued at $500 apiece for Poplar Bluff educators.

This year’s recipients included math teacher Chris Wheat of the High School for her pre-algebra and algebra classes, and special education teacher Becky Ingle of Oak Grove Elementary to benefit her reading intervention students.

“Ideally, when students leave my class, their gaps in reading and writing have diminished or closed completely,” stated Ingle in her successful grant proposal. “To do this, however, we have to start at the beginning and build a strong foundation.”

Ingle’s budget included a portable whiteboard, dry erase markers, magnetic letters and several interactive activity sets designed to teach spelling, sentence structure, phonemic awareness, story elements and independent writing so students can become more competent readers.

“After teaching math for 15 years at our Junior High, I am transferring to teach math at our High School for the 2020/21 school year,” wrote Wheat, noting that she had to part with her wireless tablet. She added: “I will teach using a wireless tablet that allows me to move around the room and be more effective as a teacher, since I will not have my back to students as I teach.”

In addition to a new wireless tablet and dry erase markers/felt erasers, Wheat’s budget included access to online resources for students and teachers, as well as other algebra manipulatives.

The Poplar Bluff School District landed two of the eight grants awarded in Region 12 of the Missouri Retired Teachers Association, which reviewed a total of 56 applications.


Cutline: (From left) PBHS Principal Mike Owen, PBHS teacher Chris Wheat, MRTA Region 12 Vice President Anne Moyer, and husband John Moyer of the MRTF board.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.