National Honor Society

Most NHS pledges inducted in recent memory
Posted on 04/19/2016

A total of 35 Poplar Bluff High School juniors were inducted into the National Honor Society during the annual spring ceremony on Wednesday, April 6, in the Kay Porter Theater.

The pledges represented the largest group Principal Mike Kiehne had the privilege of welcoming since he took his position five years ago, he noted.

“You will sign the historic Poplar Bluff High School register that dates back to the 1940s with alumni – too many to name,” said Kiehne, holding up the register to almost 100 in attendance, later joking: “It’s an old looking book.

“In making this pledge, you are representing not only yourselves but your families and also PBHS, and all those folks before you who were of great service to the community, and probably still are in our community to a large degree,” the principal continued.

Selection is based on scholarship, leadership, service and character by majority vote of a five-member faculty council appointed by the principal, according to chapter adviser Paul Conover, a social studies teacher.


Cutline: NHS Chairman Jackson Rideout welcomes the spring pledges, including (in alphabetical order): Michael Anagnostopoulos, Hunter Aud, Jazlyn Barnes, Dustyn Barnett, Alyssa Bubanovich, Justin Capps, Jordan Cox, Madison Decker, Drake Dugas, Hannah Fortner, Alexis Hecker, Rachel Henson, Lane House, Katie Huskey, Preston Jenson, Samara Kilgore, Grace King, Morgan McAtee, Hamiz Mirza, MacKenzie Moore, Jared Moses, Trenton Nepean, Molly Ormsby, Analeise Pyland, Katie Redwine, Alexis Reyes-Mortero, Ronin Rice, Lauren Rowland, Madison Sherrill, Humza Siddiqui, Victoria Traver, Baylee Valenzuela, Chloe Vernon, Adam Vincent and Taylor Wiseman.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.